Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Alumni News > 2019 OI Wrecked Cricketers' Golf Reunion

2019 OI Wrecked Cricketers' Golf Reunion

A great time had by all

14 Aug 2019
Alumni News
2019 OI Wrecked Cricketers' Golf Reunion
2019 OI Wrecked Cricketers' Golf Reunion

The newly built clubhouse, bar, restaurant and function room of Tony Tyrell’s Fynn Valley Golf Club made a fabulous, if incongruous, setting for the 28th annual get together of the OI Wrecked Cricketers’ Golf Club. Not so much a club, more a bunch of relicts from the School 1st XIs from the 1950s and ‘60s, invited to relive glory days whilst enjoying a Texas scramble. Held on the first Friday in August each year, the gathering is masterminded by former arch intimidator of batsmen, ‘The Flying Terror’, Tim Thorn. There were complaints of drives not being as long as they once were, of no Ian Hammond or substitute to drive the drinks buggy (or strand it) but the general bonhomie and fellowship was as strong as always. The muscles may not be as robust as they once were but the banter and wit were as caustic and hilarious as ever, making it another memorable day.  

The ‘Club’ came about after a couple of years of letting the Old Framlinghamians score over 300 in the annual OI v OF cricket match and from a desire to avoid future ignominy. Eighteen holes in the morning for the Thorn Trophy were followed by a sumptuous (and alcoholic) lunch, and then another post-lunch competition for the 9 Hole Trophy (and not a buggy between the lot of them). Tony Tyrell, Roger Green and Mick Simpson won the Thorn Trophy on count back from Martin Seligman, Steve Marks, David Knights and Simon Woolfries, both with a course gross total of 69 (-1) and only 3 strokes separating the first team from the last. The 9 Hole Trophy was even closer with only a 2 stroke difference between the teams. The winners of the 9 Hole Trophy were Charlie Lingard, Henry Staunton, Simon Woolfries and Steve Marks with a one-under par round of 33, one shot ahead of Chad Chapman, Mick Simpson, Simon Marks and John Collett.

A massive thank you to Tony Tyrell and the Fynn Valley staff for hosting the event so fantastically well and Tim Thorn for organising it.

Peter V Boughton OI

Photo gallery

To view this photo gallery

Similar stories

OI v School Cricket match 2019

OI v School Cricket 2019

Action at the OI v School Cricket match More...

Guests at the 2017 Dinner
The Old Ipswichian Club Annual Dinner and AGM

Come and enjoy a wonderful evening in Great School with fellow OIs More...

Dreams can be realised!

Writing career takes off! More...

Most read

Obituary - Andre Ptaszynski

It is with regret that the Club announces the sudden death of Andre Ptaszynski OI (1960-1971) More...

Ho ho ho!
First Five Years Out 2019

Perfect Pre Christmas get together! More...

Have your say

This website is powered by